Planning my first week in Australia

I choose to start my trip in Sydney. I leave from Toronto Pearson Airport on Aug. 3rd afternoon (Canadian EST) and stop in Denver and San Francisco before landing in Sydney on the morning of the 5th (Australian EST).

So far I decided I’ll spend my first week in a hostel. Ideally it would be nice to have an apartment and job set up before arriving, but I think it’d be easier to just wing it when I get there. Staying in a hostel will give me the time to re-coop from the flight, hang out, meet other backpackers and get my crap together.

So far I’ve been checking out a ton of reviews for hostels in Sydney. The 3 in the running so far are Wake Up! Sydney Central, Bounce Budget Hotel and Sydney Harbour The Rocks.

Wake Up! looks great: clean and colourful rooms, a good social atmosphere, and a ton of helpful services to get me settled (job search, phone set-up). They also have free 24-hour WiFi! Woooo! For an 8-person, female-only dorm it averages $38 AUD/night per person, which comes to $266 for the week. Not too shabby considering the cost of rent in Sydney averages $1000/week!

Bounce looks awesome! I love the look of the kitchen/dining area and the massive balcony overlooking the skyline. The hostel provides the same services except for free WiFi. Here they charge $3/hr for internet access. This could be a bummer unless there’s public WiFi available at a nearby eatery or café. The 8-person, female-only dorm averages $35/night ($245/week).

And the last contender: Sydney Harbour. This hostel looks very chic and sophisticated, and has a rooftop terrace with a beautiful view of the Sydney Opera House. I couldn’t find whether they provide free WiFi or not from the site. The standard rate for a 6-person, female-only dorm is $46/night ($322/week).

I find myself leaning more toward Wake Up! or Bounce but all 3 are looking pretty good!

If you stayed in Sydney and have positive reviews about these or any other hostels, let me know! It’s always great to get recommendations from people who’ve been. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Planning my first week in Australia

  1. Ainslie

    Hey there 🙂 First of all, I am so excited for you!!! Australia is like one of the best countries in the world. I have just spend 3 years living and travelling there:)

    First of all, don’t plan too much, it always changes anyway. The internet prices..ouch..yes its just the way it is..try and find a ‘Global Gossip’ card, cheaper internet and you can use it at every g.g. point, which they have in almost every city. I lived in Sydney my last 9 months. It’s great but I do hope you make it up the coast or even down the middle,……or even BETTER; the Westcoast.

    the $35 a night is a lot, but then again it’s Sydney so it will be a little more expensive. BUT If you head of to a place like Cairns or Ailie beach, $18-24 is average. keep an eye out and don’t get ripped off!! However, the Sydney normal rent prices are skyhigh so hostel is a good option, if you end up stying longer, share houses can be a great option too 🙂

    Look I could tell you anything you want to know, but it’s good to find it yourself 🙂 But if you have any questions or are stuck for anything (opening bank accounts to tax file numbers..to where to go out) let me know, I’d love to help.

    Have a great time planning! It will be even better than what you expect 🙂

    Like

    1. iwtkangaroo

      Hey Ainslie! Thanks for checkin’ out the blog and for all the helpful info. 🙂 Especially about the Global Gossip card and the places you think I should check out during my stay! Yes I’m definitely considering rooming with three or four others. I figure that staying in a hostel for the first week will give me the opp to meet others in the same boat. You’re so generous… I will keep your email handy and thanks again for awesome info! 🙂

      Like

  2. Travel with Jodi

    I wish you the best of luck on your journey. I just left home about a month and a half ago. Before you leave you will have those jittery moments but once you arrive in Australia you won’t even remember them! Have a blast looking forward to hear about your adventures!

    Like

    1. iwtkangaroo

      Thanks Jodi 🙂 Nooo way! That’s awesome… you don’t know how many people I’ve talked to lately that have packed up and taken off for Oz. Glad to hear you’re enjoying every second. 🙂

      Like

  3. thehungrymum

    hey! Just discovered your blog while blog hopping. I live in Sydney so I’ve never stayed in a hostel here but I am pretty sure the Sydney Harbour one is quite old… I could be wrong, though. I’m guessing it is in the Rocks? Either way, if they don’t mention free wifi I’d assume that’s a big no. The Rocks is where locals & tourists go to get smashed on Fri/Sat nights but there isn’t much there in terms of supermarkets etc.
    Good luck with your trip – I’ve just followed your blog so I can read all about it!

    Like

    1. iwtkangaroo

      Hey Carla! Ahhh I see. Thanks for the heads up! 🙂 I should of mentioned supermarkets b/c they are high on my list… I won’t be eating out often so groceries are essential!

      Like

  4. Liv

    FYI, we’re not much good with free public wifi here in Australia at the moment. Some cafes/businesses have it (and tend to advertise that they have it because it’s a bit of a rarity compared to North America) and some public spaces as well (eg Federation Square in Melbourne), but it’s probably better to plan on NOT being able to access it most of the time.

    Like

    1. iwtkangaroo

      I’m starting to see that! It looks like it’ll be challenge in the first week, but luckily all the apartment listings are including wireless internet in the rent price! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

