I’ve been slipped a roofie

When I tell people about my recent interest in saving/budgeting, the majority look at me like I awoke a rabid dark demon from deep in their subconscious… one with 17 heads and an appetite for anything even mildly-optimistic.

Although I don’t have many of the financial responsibilities that most do, I do understand that feeling of resistance: avoiding opening your mail or signing into online banking, feeling hopeless after spending a few years’ savings on an unexpected emergency, using your credit and debit cards aimlessly to cope with your feelings of shame and disappointment. Not fun.

But after finding a few blogs about others rising out of debt and reaching their goals, it inspired me to take action and crack down on my coin. After a few days playing with excel charts and selling a few things here and there for some extra cushion, I started to view budgeting as more of a game than anything. Am I sick, or what?! Ha!

Now I look at my spread and think of creative ways to save/make money while budgeting for important goals that’ll bring me satisfaction (Hey there kangaroo ;)). I feel in control, rather than controlled by money. I can see where it’s going and can make sound decisions while prioritizing what’s important to help get me to where I want to be.

Although I know saving and investing is a lifelong journey, it’s great to see and know that it’s going in a positive direction… and that’s all I can ask for.

My tidbit? Face your finances head-on and you’ll never look back.

“I try to learn from the past, but I plan for the future by focusing exclusively on the present. That’s where the fun is.” -Donald Trump

That quote was from the Donald… I promise it won’t happen again. Ha! 🙂

If personal-financing tickles your fancy then check out these awesome, awesome blogs. It’s safe to say they slipped me the budget ‘drug:’

Krystal Yee at Give Me Back My Five Bucks

J. Money (hoooollla!) at Budgets are Sexy

Ninja at Punch Debt In The Face

Daisy at When Life Gives You Lemons

Steve Pavlina at Personal Development For Smart People

Ginna at My Pretty Pennies

Homeowner By 30

4 thoughts on “I’ve been slipped a roofie

  1. vgrandja

    I was shocked with the title of this post. I was thinking “You poor dear! A guy slipped you one of those! Bad man…time to b**** slap him for taking advantage of you! But I see now you were being creative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

